Skip to content ↓

Admissions (Criteria and Process)

Admissions criteria

Children are admitted to the school in the September before their 5th birthday. Historically we have admitted up to 40 children per year. From 2016 we will be admitting up to 45 children per year group.

Children are admitted according to the following criteria, which is in priority order:

  • Looked After Children/Children adopted after being in Local Authority Care
  • Current family association, i.e. an elder brother or sister, living in the same house, at the school at the time of entry
  • Health reasons (for which a medical certificate may be needed)
  • Proximity of children’s homes and ease of access to schools.

Parents/carers who are unhappy with an admission decision to Marden Primary School can appeal by writing to the Admissions Office at Kent County Council. If you are not satisfied with the decision, there is a final stage of appeal to an Independent Statutory Appeal Committee set up under the Education Act 1980.

Admissions Process

The school holds Open School sessions in November and January each year for parents/carers to see the school, to explain what we as a school have to offer and to explain the admissions process.

This year's are on:

Tuesday 12th November 2019
at 9.15am, 1.30pm and 5.00pm

Thursday 9th January 2020




Parents/carers apply online through Kent County Council’s website where there is a section on admissions to primary school. Applications are in the January prior to the September when their child is due to start school. The office staff are always happy to assist parents/carers who might appreciate support in completing the application.

Organisation of classes

Children are organised in classes within their year group according to which class best suits their learning needs. A set admission number of 45 inevitably means that we have some mixed-age classes. These mixed-age classes are organised into phases where the teachers work together closely to ensure the curriculum is carefully planned to be appropriate to the age and ability of each child.

The phases are:

  • Early Years Foundation Stage
  • Key Stage 1
  • Lower Key Stage 2
  • Upper Key Stage 2